FIRST TRIMESTER BIRTH PAINS?

Good morning, blog readers, from rainy and cool (34 degrees) Wisconsin where, on my morning walk in the rain with an umbrella, I did not see any of God’s creatures, got a little wet and still was able to walk my usual 2.1 miles. Thank You, Jesus!

Often overlooked in Jesus’ discourse with His disciples about His return is something He said in Matthew 24:7-8: “For nation will rise against nation (check), and kingdom against kingdom (check), and in various places there will be famines and earthquakes (check, check). But all these things are merely the beginning of birth pains.”

Now, as I have said before (which should not come as a surprise to you), I have never been pregnant, but have watched my wife in pregnancy to know a “little something” about it. And, as I have studied Bible prophecy, I have begun to see the correlation between Jesus’ use of the words “birth pains in relation to His coming. Since the medical world has divided up the sequence of birth pains into three trimesters, is it possible that there will be three trimesters of “birth pains” before Jesus returns?

Now, I have a theory. And, keep in mind, it is just a “theory.” Since the so-called “tribulation” is believed by some, including me, to be 7 years in length, is it possible that there will be three “trimesters of birth pains, leading up to Jesus’ return?” Now, you might think that would mean we would know the “day or the hour” of Jesus’ return” which He Himself said we won’t know in Mark 13:32. I would add, we still wouldn’t know when the first trimester begins. To me, the key words to monitor the “birth pains are: “frequency and intensity.” Jesus, in Mark 13:33, 35, 37, said: “Stay on the alert!” And, if you are not a believer in Jesus, why not become one today by agreeing with God you are a sinner who needs a Savior Who is Jesus (Romans 3:23, 24) and believe He died on a cross for your sins, was buried and raised from the dead (I Corinthians 15:1-4) to forgive all your sins and give you eternal life (John 3:16). Then, watch, wait, work, witness for, walk with and worship Jesus until He comes. Blessings with love, Doug (3/30/24)

Leave a comment