RISCO & ROIDS!

Good morning, blog readers, from mostly sunny and mild (57 degrees) Wisconsin where, on my morning walk, I saw: 6 robins, a dog and a plane! Thank You, Jesus!

As most of you know, I enjoy watching for “earthquakes” because Jesus said, in Matthew 24:7 and Mark 13:8 that, before His return, “there will be earthquakes in various places.” Now, this might not sound like a big deal to you but, over the last 24 hours, there was a “very minor” (2.8) earthquake WSW of Risco Missouri (population: 348, as of 2010). So, you might ask: “What’s the big deal about this “very minor quake?” Well, I’m glad you asked. This quake just happened to be about 14 miles west of, drum roll, New Madrid Missouri where, in 1811 and 1812, there were two of the largest earthquakes in the states. Stay tuned!

Next, this headline, from Live Science, also got my attention this morning: “Car-size Can asteroid discovered 2 days ago flies 30 times closer to Earth than the moon.” In the article, Brandon Specktor reported: “In the glare of the sun, an unknown number of near-Earth asteroids move on unseen orbits. A new generation of space telescopes could be our best defense against potential disaster. I (Doug) am voting for the Lord Jesus as our “best defense against asteroids.”

Spektor continued: “Events like these are, fortunately, uncommon. … To date, astronomers have mapped the orbits of more than 33,000 near-Earth asteroids and found that none pose a risk of hitting our planet for at least the next century.” Doug: “Then, again, there is, what I like to call the “Jesus factor!” Keep in mind, the Lord simply said the word and the sun, the moon and the stars were created (Genesis 1). Read Revelation 6:12-17, Chapters 9,10 and16 and you will see what the Lord Jesus will do when He judges the earth. I don’t know about you, but I am glad and thankful I will not be around for these judgments. How about you? Now, let me remind you: You can be spared of these judgments by simply agreeing with God you are a sinner who needs a Savior Who is Jesus (Romans 3:23, 24) and believe He died on a cross for your sins, was buried and raised from the dead (I Corinthians 15:1-4) to forgive all your sins and give you eternal life (John 3:16). And, if you do, I’ll see you in heaven! In the meantime, keep watching, waiting, working, witnessing for, walking with and worshiping Jesus until He comes. Blessings with love in Christ, Doug (4/12/24)

One thought on “RISCO & ROIDS!

Leave a comment